Time to get reel

photoI’m hopeless when it comes to cinema.

I go to a movie theatre once a year, maybe once every two years. I don’t buy or download movies.

Occasionally I’ll spot a film on TV and record it. Later I might even watch it. Three months later.

Where did it all go wrong?

As a teenager I was a weekly cinema-goer – my good pal W and I were regulars at a long-departed cinema above the old shopping centre in my hometown.

In college and after I still made the effort. And then, passing a theatre one day in my early 30s, it occurred to me: ‘I can’t remember the last movie I saw’.

Despite this I never thought that the situation needed fixing. Then, a few months ago, my wife and I were sitting in a Dublin hotel bar with good friends of ours when the subject of movies came up.

A parade of recent releases, classics and curios was offered up. I realised – and so did my companions – that I had seen about 10pc of them. Pitiful, really.

And so The List (above) was devised.

About Schmidt? About time.

About Schmidt? About time.

Like most lists it’s utterly arbitrary, scripted on the whims of the three who drew it up. It’s basically a crash course in Films I Need To See Before I Die.

As you can see it’s got a bit of everything, though weighted a little heavily towards Woody Allen.

And it’s a departure from the usual top 20 ‘must see’ lists. How many of those include Sixteen Candles, The Departed and The Bad News Bears (the Walter Matthau version)?

That night at the Clarence Hotel was six months ago. Since then, I’ve watched three of the 20 movies on the list (Vicky Christina Barcelona, Midnight In Paris and The Departed, all worthwhile viewings).

That’s not a huge number, and at this rate it’ll be 2016 before I catch Broadcast News, but I’m getting there.

The question is: what should number 21 be?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Time to get reel

  1. focuspullr says:

    Hi Cormac,
    I’d recommend Groundhog Day as Film No.22! It’s a must see on anyone’s list.

  2. Amanda says:

    I’m not much of a movie-goer myself, but I do see several I really enjoyed on your list – Bull Durham, Napoleon Dynamite, Christmas Story. But I do not see a good Science Fiction film on there, and for that I would recommend Blade Runner. So much SF is “cowboys in space” but Blade Runner” is based on “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” by Phillip K. Dick, an excellent novella by a top-notch writer who was present during most of the filming and actually happy with it. It’s a cross between science fiction and noir detective and utterly riveting. Directed by Ridley Scott, stars Harrison Ford, Rutgar Hauer.

  3. Anfearbui says:

    Watch Pleasantville from 1998, a visual treat

Leave a Reply

