Most of all

For those I'm here with.

For those I’m here with.

And do you feel yourself thankful?

I do.

Thankful for being here.

Thankful for those I’m here with, her most of all.

Thankful every morning.

Not thankful enough for most of the day.

But thankful.

For small things.

For the last line of A Clean, Well-Lighted Place.

For the first solo on Autumn Leaves.

And the taste of crab linguine.

And more.

I’m thankful that release exists and that I witnessed it.

That pain exists and has an end.

That love exists and has none.

Most of all I’m thankful that I’m here, and not anywhere else.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Most of all

  1. Sinead Roche says:

    Love it, said perfectly, happy thanksgiving

  2. I’m most thankful for you, our families and our health. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, hon.

  3. Christine Sweeney says:

    Many must have it.

    Read ACWLP with my students, not so successful. Hope they return to it as an adult.

    Thankful for friends across the pond. Hope you and Clare enjoy the day 🙂

    • Have a great day Christine – I strongly suspect your husband will turkey-load ahead of a monster run at the weekend!
      It must be strange teaching that story to teenagers, for me it’s a piece that demands life experience to some degree. When it comes to my all time short stories though it’s near the top, only Carver comes close.

  4. Stacy says:

    Beautifully written. Happy Thanksgiving to you and Clare!

Leave a Reply

